a love letter for you

Last night I was talking to my Dad (hi Dad!) and he pointed out I hadn’t been blogging. I tried to explain about how busy I’d been, but I felt guilty as I was saying it—not that I haven’t been busy, I’d be convinced I had Mono, if it weren’t for the fact that I am fully aware my work schedule has been encroaching on my sleep schedule. So this morning, when I got an unexpected call from Spain (shout-out to Erica and Laur) I thought perhaps I should take this time to write a little something.

mural

These images are all from the blog a love letter for you. Love Letter is a project by Stephen Powers with the City of Philadelphia Mural Arts Program and is sponsored by the Pew Center for Arts & Heritage through the Philadelphia Exhibitions Initiative.

According to a coworker of mine (the site says nothing about this, so warning this may be libel) working on these murals is a common court ordered punishment for kids caught tagging… If this is true, I think it’s the greatest thing in law enforcement ever. It’d almost be worth some mug shots.

I love all the styles and interesting use of typography the play on nice dream and ice cream here, or rocket pop I guess, is especially amusing. Overall it’s just a beautiful way to clean up a city, infuse art into it, and spread positive messaging.

More and more I’m noticing the painted signs and type are disappearing from NY, through age and weather and construction. It’s always been happening, but by leaving and coming back, all those tiny day-to-day differences were suddenly glaring—I wish NY would adopt this mural program. As a start, there is plenty of space near my office, and it would certainly brighten up my Mondays.

Comments
2 Responses to “a love letter for you”
  1. Allison says:

    so happy to hear that dad reads your blog regularly

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] The typography is so beautiful and I love how some are very site specific. (Like “I’ll Shape Up” on the side of a building that houses a barber shop.) See all 50 murals on the official site gallery. (via Pixels & Arrows) […]



Leave a Reply

