wonderlust

I recently heard from Wonderlust blogger Eliza Coleman. When looking at her site I realized I missed what looks like the coolest art show I have ever seen. It took place from April 16 – June 27, 2009 at Gagosian Gallery here in NYC. So lucky for me I can claim I was living in San Francisco and couldn’t have gone.

The piece, by Yayoi Kusama, was called “Aftermath of Obliteration of Eternity” and consisted of a room with-in a room. The inside room having wall to wall mirrors, hundreds of lit candles hung at different heights, and a shallow pool of water on the floor…

The effect is amazing. And from what I hear disorientating as the water rippled.

What’s really amazing is that Yayoi Kusama is 80 years old. On one hand this makes sense to me, having a kind of interest in the “Aftermath of Obliteration of Eternity”, but her interest in pattern apparently began with hallucinations she experienced as a young girl—visions of nets, dots, and flowers that covered everything she saw, and the idea of ‘obliterating the world.’ Soon after Kusama began covering larger and larger areas of canvas with patterns, and in 2008 she became the highest paid living female artist in the world.

I think this work is just stunning.

You can see a video of the room here.
You can visit Kusama’s site here.

Comments
3 Responses to “wonderlust”
  1. bryson says:

    i went to the gallery to see this like 10 times. it was AMAZING! some douchebag and his girlfriend were asking abaout purchasing it so they could have a “meditation space in our loft”. gag. actually, i am just jealous of the fact that some people could actually consider buying something like this and be serious about it. i have an interesting story about the artist as well. remind me to tell it to you sometime…

  2. rebeccapaull says:

    What’s funny about this is my actual first thought when I saw this was “I wonder if I could do this in my closet or something, and make a nice relaxing room.”
    Tell me the story! Come to bocce this weekend and tell it. Yesssssssss.

  3. Eliza says:

    Thanks for reposting!

Leave a Reply

