Austin

I’m headed to Austin for the first time next month (that’s right little sister, Texas!*) I should be planning my music calendar, but instead I doing things like adoring some wedding gala and getting excited to check out the dive bar that hosted it.

You can’t really see it, but the bar is called the Scout Inn. It was built in 1871, and is the oldest continuously running beer joint in central Texas… At least, that’s what I heard.

This whole event seems so simple, and kind of rugged chic... very similar to my favorite of all the chics. I’m just loving the intricate lace mixed with the raw wood. And the desaturated tones with the occasional red accents.

I think I’m going to really like Austin. I have no backing for this just a feeling.

It will be a lot easier to have this happen if some people give me tourist tips… Like locals? Like, um, Justin David Cox? You can make up for those postal skills with some really awesome bar / restaurant / and music venue recommendations! (Late coming reader note: Justin David Cox makes some really fantastic posters.) Oh, and please tell me Public School has something planned in conjunction with SXSW. Pretty Please?

* denotes interpretation of a family joke… wondering if anyone gets it. Including myself. It was Texas that the bird was so crazy about right? Wait, was it New Mexico?

Photography by Heather Banks for Eclectic Images / Event Design and Coordination Gina with Clink / Flowers by Merveille / Band White Ghost Shivers / Catering by Primizie

Comments
2 Responses to “Austin”
  1. Justin David Cox says:

    email me! lets plan and discuss.

  2. rebeccapaull says:

    Fantastic. Will do.

    Oh, internet, you crazy rascal, sometimes I think you’re magic.

Leave a Reply

