POSTER FRIDAY// matthew craven

Last night I went by the SVA MFA open studios.

It was, um… interesting. I mean that sounds bad. I’m biased (obviously. this whole blog is biased.) Anyway, I’ve never been a big fan of video art, so most of it wasn’t making it into the diary or anything. Still I really enjoyed the work of Matthew Craven. Yep that’s right, Matthew Craven you’re poster Friday… even if you’re not posters.

The site doesn’t have all the pieces I saw so I can’t really show what it was I gravitated toward, but he had some great pattern work and interesting juxtapositions.

He also brought it out into the space through tone on tone paint and taped pattern work, which aside from obviously loving I’m debating attempting.

Leave a Reply

