forgotten.


Does anyone else find images like this oddly romantic? There’s something so sad about what appears to be a city left to decay, but I always have a glass half full feeling about it. It reminds me of the scene in sleeping beauty when the fairies put the whole castle to sleep for 100 years and all are overtaken by vines—shielding them from being discovered.


I’m not certain that the ruins of Detroit have a fairy godmother coming to the rescue, but the images are amazing regardless. How can a entire buildings with such raw beautiful architecture be left to decay?


Secret omission: Sometimes I see these and I kind of want to move there and restore something (something in better condition that the image above)… get a little crafty, keep some of history from disappearing completely. I’m sure it’s much harder than my imagination is making it. But NY makes owning anything with beams seem like a dream.

Images from The Ruins of Detroit by Yves Marchand & Romain Meffre.

Comments
One Response to “forgotten.”
  1. I love these images! I work in a similar way. I photograph endangered historic sites.
    http://kck.st/mxeuvk
    I always hoped that by taking pretty pictures of things that other people see as ugly, they might reconsider and save the architecture.

Leave a Reply

